Social Welfare & Community Development

Head of Department

Mr. Ibrahim Mustapha

What we do

The Department of Social Welfare and Community development, initially known as Social Welfare (DSW) and housing was established in 1946 and derived its mandate from statutory orders that made it responsible for social services encompassing health, housing, education and agriculture. Over the years its mandate has been redefined under various ministries. Presently the Head Office of the DSW is an integral part of the Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Protection. Also with the promulgation of LI 1961, the Department of Community Development and Department Of Social Welfare at the local level have now been merged to become a Department of the Metropolitan, Municipal and District Assemblies with the new name Department of Social Welfare and Community Development. This department is structured into the Social Welfare unit and Community Development unit which are decentralized Government Statutory Agencies currently within the Upper Denkyira West District Assembly with the mandate to assist the Assembly in the formulation and implementation of Social welfare and Community Development policies within the framework of national policy.